Barca celebrating La liga title, Stuttgart relegated

Luis Suarez notched his third hat-trick in five games as Barcelona won 3-0 at Granada to clinch their 24th La Liga title.

Suarez finished the season as La Liga’s top scorer with 40 goals, breaking Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi’s grip on the honour since 2009.

Barca ended with 91 points, one ahead of Real Madrid.

At the other end of the table, Sporting Gijon beat Villarreal 2-0 to prevail in a gripping three-way battle to avoid relegation as Getafe and Rayo Vallecano dropped into the second tier. They joined Levante, who had been relegated two weeks previously and finished bottom on 32 points.


Manchester City secured fourth place in the Premier League and Arsenal leap-frogged their arch-rivals Tottenham Hotspur to finish second on the final day of the season.

City drew 1-1 at Swansea City to earn the point they needed to book the last Champions League qualifying spot, Arsenal crushed Aston Villa 4-0 and Spurs were routed 5-1 at relegated Newcastle United. Naijabet

Champions Leicester City drew 1-1 at Chelsea to end the campaign 10 points clear at the summit with only three league defeats all season.

The game between Manchester United and Bournemouth was abandoned after a security alert at Old Trafford.


Serie A champions Juventus rounded off their campaign by thrashing Sampdoria 5-0. Napoli sealed second spot after Gonzalo Higuain bagged a hat-trick to break a 66-year goal record and help his side floor Frosinone 4-0.

The hat-trick took Higuain’s tally for the season to 36 league goals, which broke the record for most goals in a Serie A campaign set by Gunnar Nordahl for AC Milan in 1949-50.

Napoli secured the second Champions League berth while AS Roma finished third.

Carpi’s stay in the top flight ended after only one season and they will be joining Frosinone and Verona in Serie B next season despite ending the season with a 2-1 win at Udinese.


Former champions VfB Stuttgart were relegated for the first time in 41 years after losing 3-1 at VfL Wolfsburg in the top- flight season finale.

Werder Bremen needed an 88th-minute goal by Papy Djilobodji to beat visiting relegation rivals Eintracht Frankfurt 1-0 and keep their spot in the Bundesliga, with their opponents going into a playoff against Nuremberg, third in the second division.

Bayern Munich forward Robert Lewandowski took the honours as the league’s top scorer with 30 goals after netting in the champions’ 3-1 victory over relegated Hanover 96.


Zlatan Ibrahimovic closed his Ligue 1 account with two goals as champions Paris St Germain thrashed Nantes 4-0 at home.

Lucas Moura and Marquinhos scored the other goals as Laurent Blanc’s side ended the season with a record points haul of 96.

Olympique Lyonnais fell to a surprise 4-1 defeat at relegated Stade de Reims, but pipped Monaco to second place on goal difference.

Toulouse avoided relegation on the final day after coming from behind to beat Angers, with Gazelec Ajaccio dropping into Ligue 2.


Benfica clinched a record 35th Portuguese league title with a thumping 4-1 victory over Nacional, ending the season two points clear of rivals Sporting Lisbon.

Nicolas Gaitan scored twice, with top scorer Jonas and Pizzi also finding the net as Benfica cruised to their third consecutive championship.


Club Bruges claimed the Belgian championship for the first time in 11 years when they produced an emphatic display to thump closest challengers Anderlecht 4-0 for an unassailable lead in the standings.

Abdoulay Diaby scored twice within five minutes in the first half and Hans Vanaken and Timmy Simons added two more goals after the break to hand Michel Preud’homme’s club the title in front of their home fans.

With two matches to play in the post-season playoffs, Bruges opened up a six-point lead and, even if they are caught in the final two rounds, they cannot be denied the title after finishing the regular season top of the standings.